Learning to eat gluten-free will be a challenge at first, but over time you’ll get the hang of it and it’ll be second nature to you. You’ll know what you can eat and what you can’t eat and at some point you won’t have to read labels unless you can’t get the brands you’re used to eating.
Getting started is the hard part, but it doesn’t have to be when you use these tips. You’ll find these suggestions will help make it easier and you’ll have foods you can eat daily. This will help you until you can get to a point where you’re ready to venture off and try new and different foods.
To get started with a gluten-free diet you need to start with the foods that are for sure gluten-free. These would include the following familiar foods.
* Potatoes, rice, and corn
* Beans, Legumes, and nuts (with or without the shells)
* Unflavored tea, some coffees, some fruit juices, and unflavored milk
* Fresh fruits and vegetables
* Unbreaded meat and fish
It’s important to read labels and know what to look for when reading them because the language can be different. It may not be as simple as looking for gluten or wheat. It’s also important to know that not every label will say gluten-free on it, so you must read them carefully before you make the purchase. There’s nothing worse than buying something and then find out you can’t have it because it has gluten in it.
There are products that are never gluten-free and it’s important to know what those are so you can avoid them and not even waste your time looking at them. This isn’t to say there aren’t products like these that are gluten-free, but more than likely you’d have to go a natural food store to get them. Even if you do go to a store like this, it’s important to read the labels because they may be natural or organic, but not gluten-free.
Some of the foods that are not gluten-free are listed below.
* Breaded chicken or fish
* White or wheat bread
* Soft or hard taco shells
* Hamburger or hot dog buns
* Pizza crust
* Pasta noodles
These are just a few of the foods that contain gluten. You may also find it in some seasonings, BBQ sauces, frozen French fries, and alcohol to name a few. It’s important to not take anything for granted and read all labels. You never know when a food might contain gluten and it’s not worth the sickness that comes when you eat something with gluten in it.
Over time you’ll feel better about eating new foods and you won’t have a problem trying new gluten-free foods. You won’t mind making pasta noodles from scratch or making a macaroni salad with gluten-free noodles, mayonnaise, and mustard. You’ll be brave enough to eat out at a restaurant if you’re able to find one that has foods you can eat. When you first start out eating gluten-free you want to eat the foods you know you can have without worrying. Overtime you’ll find other foods you can eat and you’ll become a pro at finding those foods simply by reading labels and researching online.